Home » Forums » Employees » What I can do when my workers don’t want to?

Home Forums Employees What I can do when my workers don’t want to?

• What I can do when my workers don’t want to?

Posted by sofiq-ahsan on December 4, 2013 at 10:50 am

Basically I am an automobile engineer. I started a job on a small automobile workshop as Manager very recently. This workshop owner is a illiterate person (though expert on practical work) and most of the workers (technician & mechanics) are also experienced but not educated. But my workshop owner is a visionary person & wants to update this as a modern workshop and only that’s why he appointed me!

But problem is, some workers thinking- it’s a destructive project for them! Because when this workshop will updated completely they will totally useless as they are uneducated…! They are feeling useless themselves for a modern workshop and that’s why feeling insecure with their job!
    So, they don’t want we update it & some of them also disliking me for this project!

Now, how I could handle this situation? Do you have any idea or suggestion for me?
    Tom replied 10 years, 4 months ago 7 Members · 7 Replies
  • 7 Replies
  • Curtis Andrew Massoll

December 5, 2013 at 10:20 am

I think that your best angle would be to make the rest of the staff that updating the shop is needed by necessity, not by your individual choice. Their employer is the individual that has put you in the position of making this happen. It is in the entire staff’s best interest for this to happen. Even though we are fortunate to be in a service business that can not be taken completely away from customer interaction and will never solely become a commodity; none the less we are still competing in a World Market. Literacy and understanding technology is a necessity moving forward, the other option is to perish.