Home » Forums » Everything Else » Career Transition & Shop Purchase

Home Forums Everything Else Career Transition & Shop Purchase

• Career Transition & Shop Purchase

Posted by Albert Saporito on December 28, 2018 at 3:51 pm

Greetings all,

By way of introduction, I’m a Senior Corporate IT Manager who’s a lifelong car junkie and gearhead.  I’ve always wanted to be self-employed and doing something I enjoy. Truth be told, I’m fed up with corporate life and IT!  Alas, the opportunity to purchase an auto repair shop and gas station has presented itself.  The shop gross revenue is ~750k/yr (Three Tech’s, 1 Manager and the current owner).  The Net proceeds to the owner are ~200k.  Asking price 295k.

I’m curious to know if anyone here on the forum has undertaken a similar career change into small business life and how it went?  Tips and lessons learned are welcome.  Also, if anyone has any insights to the numbers I’d also be interested to hear your thoughts.

Thanks!

Unknown Member replied 5 years, 3 months ago 9 Members · 15 Replies
  • 15 Replies
  • Tom

December 30, 2018 at 8:41 am

Welcome to the party! 😉

I have not done what you are doing, however I started in service stations and eventually moved to repair only. Generally, people like yourself do well because they treat it like a serious business as is evidenced by you asking about numbers right up front.

Taking only the details you mention is sounds pretty good at first glance – assuming that you can verify those numbers. As with anything you will find there are more moving parts that you probably expect. There are plenty of simpler businesses you could get into.

I know of one gentleman who did something like you describe. I will see if I can get him to comment.

• Site Administrator

Administrator
    December 30, 2018 at 9:15 am

The Premium Member area has excellent information on Key Numbers (cost $39 for 90 days access)

Key Numbers 101 Series

Key Numbers Calculators

• Frank