Home » Forums » Everything Else » Used car dealer work

Home Forums Everything Else Used car dealer work

• Used car dealer work

Posted by Aaron Schreur on February 13, 2012 at 8:39 pm

Do any of you do work for used car dealers? If so what kind of deals are you cutting them(percentage)? I have been working for one for a couple years now and have just been charging labor and the parts go on the car lots accounts. I have covered some of the lost parts profits by a higher than normal hourly rate but I am starting to think it might be to good of a deal for him. There is always a backlog of cars to work on which is very nice when the walk in customers slow down.

Alan Ollie replied 12 years ago 9 Members · 12 Replies
  • 12 Replies
  • Tom

February 15, 2012 at 8:32 pm

Aaron Schreur wrote:

> Do any of you do work for used car dealers? If so what kind of deals are you cutting them(percentage)? I have been working for one for a couple years now and have just been charging labor and the parts go on the car lots accounts. I have covered some of the lost parts profits by a higher than normal hourly rate but I am starting to think it might be to good of a deal for him. There is always a backlog of cars to work on which is very nice when the walk in customers slow down.

Once in a great while when a very complex issue arises a dealer will bring us a car. But, that’s about it. I believe there is a nearly endless supply of underground/illegal shops around here that get most of that type of work.

• rhopp

February 18, 2012 at 7:45 pm

For what it’s worth, we service import vehicles for many of the local

dealers. No discounts, just clear, priority service. Small town, no

import dealers, just the big three.

• Aaron Schreur

February 20, 2012 at 11:55 pm

Are they always trying to beat you up on your prices?

• rhopp

February 21, 2012 at 2:54 am

They ARE used car dealers, after all. We seem to be getting them