Home » Forums » Everything Else » Diagnostic Time- What is reasonable?

Home Forums Everything Else Diagnostic Time- What is reasonable?

• Diagnostic Time- What is reasonable?

Posted by jfs on October 16, 2015 at 12:10 am

I have a Medium and Heavy Duty Truck repair shop. What is considered a reasonable amount of time to start a diagnosis?
    I understand the industry standard recommends 1 hr. to start with but what are other shops doing?

John Shanderuk replied 6 years, 3 months ago 13 Members · 12 Replies
  • 12 Replies
  • andrewtpoe

October 16, 2015 at 9:37 am

As a technician I worked on smaller cars, Honda specifically. My shop charged 0.6hrs for initial diagnosis time. I think 1hr is a little more fair to the technicians, especially since you can roll a little of that diagnosis time into the repair if you need to.

• Richard Zaagman

October 16, 2015 at 9:38 am

We start with .75 but that is just the basics and we almost always upsell for further testing and confirmation purposes.  We have found that asking for more up front can often cause customer dissatisfaction.  Customer’s don’t understand or accept the fact that we have to charge for diagnosis but that doesn’t change the fact we have to charge for this,  so quite frankly, we play the game.  .75 initial testing.  Once that step is done, we call the customer with what we know and tell them further testing is needed to confirm our suspicions and then we’ll often charge another .5 to 1.25.  We also will often add .5 to the repair which also helps cover our diagnostic costs.

• Curtis Andrew Massoll

October 16, 2015 at 10:07 am