Home » Forums » Customer Service » Courtesy Shuttles – Do you provide them?

Home Forums Customer Service Courtesy Shuttles – Do you provide them?

• Courtesy Shuttles – Do you provide them?

Posted by Will Burke on June 3, 2019 at 10:10 am

Hi Everyone – 
    Just curious to how many people here provide courtesy shuttles and how many rides you provide in an average day?

What kind of issues do you run into by providing shuttles? 
    Do you have a dedicated driver or do you just grab an idle employee to shuttle people around?

My background is in the world of car dealerships, so standalone service centers is kind of a new world for me.
    Just curious to see what the norm is and what roadblocks and challenges everyone faces on a day to day basis. 

-Will 

J. Larry Bloodworth replied 4 years, 10 months ago 4 Members · 5 Replies
  • 5 Replies
  • Tom

June 3, 2019 at 11:04 am

Yes, however far less than we did at one time. Now less than one a day.  This is a dying service due to Uber, Lyft, etc. The cost of a vehicle, employee, time, effort, etc. can be greatly reduced with ride services. Customer acceptance is far better than we anticipated. For new shops, don’t start. For existing shops, phase it out. Unnecessary expense. 

• Randy Lucyk

June 3, 2019 at 1:46 pm

Will

We provide courtesy shuttles and also have 4 loaner vehicles that we do not charge for. We run 30-40 cars a day thru the store. About 50-60% of those are LOF’s and light services, with customers waiting. We have a staff of 10-12 on any given day, so we use existing staff to shuttle customers. The loaners are invaluable, IMO, as they give us the ability to say Yes much more frequently, as well as get us out of jams, when things don’t go as planned. Our loaner fleet are older customer cars, in good condition that we purchased with some major defect. On average we have $2000-$3000 invested in them plus gas and maintenance.