Auto Shop Management Forums

Find answers, ask questions, and connect with our community around the world.

  • State inspection

    Posted by gcauto on October 26, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    For those operating in a state that has annual state inspections. If you have a vehicle that fails state inspection, the customer opts to do the repairs themselves and then bring the vehicle back for the sticker, do you charge a re-inspection fee? Pennsylvania states that any vehicle failing inspection that leaves the premises and is returned after repairs are completed else-where must be inspected again. Would you charge to re-inspect this vehicle if someone else did the repairs?

    jrg replied 10 years, 8 months ago 7 Members · 9 Replies
  • 9 Replies
Advertiser / Sponsor
  • jdrollin

    October 28, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    In Virginia, the re-inspection fee is $1.00 if the re-inspect is done within 15 days at the same facility where the original safety insepection was performed.

  • tyroauto1

    October 28, 2011 at 4:45 pm

    Yes we do charge for it in that scenario. In New York it’s $10.00 or $11.00 depending on if it fails for safety or emissions.

  • jrg

    October 28, 2011 at 6:40 pm

    We charge a $25 fee for re-inspection of safety and/or emission if the owner has repairs performed else where and returns to us for the re-inspection.

  • pirouette

    October 28, 2011 at 6:52 pm

    In Maine, the State Inspection fee for all but 1 county is $12.50 Pass

    or Fail. (there is 1 county that has Emissions Testing at a higher


    We note on their invoice that if the work required to bring the vehicle

    into compliance is performed elsewhere, the $ 12.50 re-inspection fee in


  • ragnampizer

    October 29, 2011 at 6:11 am

    in the nyc metro area a re-inspection fee is charged $10 for safety or $27 for emissions.

  • gettyinc

    October 29, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    In the state of Ma.the reinspection is free for a period of sixty days regardless who does the repairs but,they must return to the shop that failed the car and,they are allowed only one free retest.Any test after that they are charged the regular inspection which is 29.00

  • gcauto

    October 31, 2011 at 6:16 pm

    Is that fee the same as the original inspection fee?

  • gcauto

    October 31, 2011 at 6:17 pm


    Have you lost any customers with this policy?

  • jrg

    November 1, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    Seems to be only the bottom feeders.. Which allows us to better take care of our good customers.

    Some of the bottom feeders are pretty entertaining…. We had one we failed for a check engine light, wheel bearing(hub assembly) and a rust hole in the rocker panel. $25 He fixed the bearing, rust hole and returned for safety $25, he had 60 days for the check engine light. He returned after the 60 days with with the check engine light fixed (replacement O2 sensor) $25 more but the state’s machine required the vehicle to be inspected for safety again (over the allowed time). Up on the lift for safety again. Found a broken sway bar on the front, did pass emission. He replaced the sway bar and returned $25 more.

    The majority of the no returns are DIY’s.

    We’re right up front with the re-inspection fee. Our good customers have no problem with it. They know the state hits us each time and my staff needs to be paid for their time.

    Judging by our numbers it’s working just fine