Home » Forums » Customer Service » Handling Intermittents

Home Forums Customer Service Handling Intermittents

• Handling Intermittents

Posted by Tom on June 17, 2016 at 3:12 pm

How are intermittents handled at your shop?

Do you have a certain set of guidelines that you follow?
    Do you have certain limits on what you will or will not do?
    Do you have a certain approach that you generally use with customers?
    Any other advice or comments also welcome.
    Thanks,
    Randy Lucyk replied 6 years, 1 month ago 4 Members · 3 Replies
  • 3 Replies
  • kal

March 10, 2018 at 11:38 am

Hi, I’m new to this forum. I’ve been a tech for about 30 years and have had to deal with many intermittent issues, many of which cannot be initially verified in the service drive. We are a Honda dealership. If a vehicle shows up with an intermittent problem that cannot be duplicated in a reasonable amount of time we ask the customer to bring back their vehicle when/if the issue becomes more frequent. I personally will not charge the customer in this situation, which is a loss to me being a flat-rate tech. if the vehicle is still covered under the factory warranty we will not even attempt to diagnose or repair a problem if it cannot be verified. We have no experienced hourly-paid techs that can afford to spend all day attempting to duplicate an intermittent issue. Saying that, I recently requested a new position as a self-described service co-ordinater, and the owner agreed to implement it. Our new dealership construction is just about complete and my new job starts the day we move in. It is to be a salary position and one of my duties would include dealing with very intermittent vehicle issues, amongst a whole slew of other service related duties. I will report back on how this change works out for myself and the shop as a whole.

• Patrick McElroy

March 11, 2018 at 8:26 am