• December 8, 2006 at 10:10 pm#63061
    zartik

I am a computer programmer helping a friend who has an auto repair shop (total of 2 employees). The software he is using is 10 years old,  DOS based, does most of what he needs,  similar to  other softwares; however, he is not happy with the support he gets from the company,  and the yearly maintenance fee of  $800 (for one computer), in my openion is way too high.   I am encouraging him to switch to newer (Window based), software, which can be obtained for less than $500.00 ,  with a  very low yearly maintenance fee or no fee at all.

I really liked the Automotive Expert, which I got for 45 days for trial;  it did every thing he needed ,  the price was right,  HOWEVER,  there is one requiremnt that Automotive Expert couldn’t meet, and possibly a lot of other software might not be able either.  This individual,  has pre-printed Form paper which has the name of his shop and specific fields printed on the paper,  the old software is able to print on this form, since he has 5000 copies of this pre-printed Form,  he is not willing to throw away the paper.  Is there an automotive software out there that can print on pre-formatted form ?   and of course it has the basic automotive shop management features ?

Thanks

Alice

December 10, 2006 at 4:33 pm#67571
    rhopp

"since he has 5000 copies of this pre-printed Form,  he is not willing to throw away the paper. "

That statement says a lot.

At $800 year for support of a dead technology, he has about six months worth of paper that he is stuck on. (That will take him three to five years to use, that is roughly $2400 to $4000.00 in support).

Scott Systems is one good low cost system that I know of. (I am not a user).

Most of the powerful systems are in the $200 to $400 per month range. Of course on the opposite end, you can step back all the way to the simplicity of Quickbooks or paper.