Home » Forums » Employees » What are the qualities of a sucessful service writer?

Home Forums Employees What are the qualities of a sucessful service writer?

• What are the qualities of a sucessful service writer?

Posted by joecval on March 6, 2011 at 4:07 pm

I have no experience with hiring a SA. I am the current SA but it’s time to add one.

1. In your experience what makes an awesome writer?

2. Has anyone hired an applicant from a outside the trade and found it was a homerun? If so, why?

3. The top 5 must have qualities of a SA would be? 1 being the most important.

jbrenn77 replied 12 years, 10 months ago 9 Members · 8 Replies
  • 8 Replies
  • mylesj

March 8, 2011 at 6:11 pm

You need someone who knows how to fix cars and who knows how to fix people. You can gain the people skills in less time than you can “get” vehicle technology.

This may sound odd but many states employment divisions have incentives to hire injured/disabled workers. I know one tech who was injured skiing and is now a service writer. The shop owner got some financial assistance while getting the tech up to speed as a service writer.

If you find someone that you like that does not have a service writer background get a committment from them to take a business psychology class at the nearest community college. They have to learn how to fix people.

• davesgarage

March 8, 2011 at 8:05 pm